IUBMB Enzyme Nomenclature


Accepted name: tRNA (cytidine32/uridine32-2'-O)-methyltransferase

Reaction: (1) S-adenosyl-L-methionine + cytidine32 in tRNA = S-adenosyl-L-homocysteine + 2'-O-methylcytidine32 in tRNA
(2) S-adenosyl-L-methionine + uridine32 in tRNA = S-adenosyl-L-homocysteine + 2'-O-methyluridine32 in tRNA

Other name(s): YfhQ; tRNA:Cm32/Um32 methyltransferase; TrMet(Xm32); TrmJ

Systematic name: S-adenosyl-L-methionine:tRNA (cytidine32/uridine32-2'-O)-methyltransferase

Comments: In Escherichia coli YfhQ is the only methyltransferase responsible for the formation of 2'-O-methylcytidine32 in tRNA. No methylation of cytosine34 in tRNALeu(CAA). In vitro the enzyme 2-O-methylates cytidine32 of tRNASer1 and uridine32 of tRNAGln2.

Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, Metacyc, PDB, CAS registry number:


1. Purta, E., van Vliet, F., Tkaczuk, K.L., Dunin-Horkawicz, S., Mori, H., Droogmans, L. and Bujnicki, J.M. The yfhQ gene of Escherichia coli encodes a tRNA:Cm32/Um32 methyltransferase. BMC Mol Biol 7 (2006) 23. [PMID: 16848900]

[EC created 2011]

Return to EC 2.1.1 home page
Return to EC 2.1 home page
Return to EC 2 home page
Return to Enzymes home page
Return to IUBMB Biochemical Nomenclature home page