IUBMB Enzyme Nomenclature


Accepted name: site-specific DNA-methyltransferase (adenine-specific)

Reaction: S-adenosyl-L-methionine + DNA in adenine = S-adenosyl-L-homocysteine + DNA 6-methylaminopurine

Other name(s): modification methylase; restriction-modification system

Comments: This is a large group of enzymes, most of which, with enzymes of similar site specificity listed as EC type 1 site-specific deoxyribonuclease, EC type II site-specific deoxyribonuclease or EC type III site-specific deoxyribonuclease, form so-called 'restriction-modification systems'. A complete listing of all of these enzymes has been produced by R.J. Roberts and is available on-line at http://rebase.neb.com/rebase/rebase.html.

Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, Metacyc, PDB, CAS registry number: 69553-52-2


1. Kessler, C. and Manta, V. Specificity of restriction endonucleases and DNA modification methyltransferases: a review (Edition 3). Gene 92 (1990) 1-248. [PMID: 2172084]

2. Roberts, R.J. Restriction enzymes and their isoschizomers. Nucleic Acids Res. 18 (1990) 2331-2365. [PMID: 2159140]

3. Yuan, R. Structure and mechanism of multifunctional restriction endonucleases. Annu. Rev. Biochem. 50 (1981) 285-319. [PMID: 6267988]

[EC created 1984]

Return to EC 2.1.1 home page
Return to EC 2.1 home page
Return to EC 2 home page
Return to Enzymes home page
Return to IUBMB Biochemical Nomenclature home page