IUBMB Enzyme Nomenclature


Accepted name: cytosol nonspecific dipeptidase

Reaction: Hydrolysis of dipeptides, preferentially hydrophobic dipeptides including prolyl amino acids

Other names: N2-β-alanylarginine dipeptidase; glycyl-glycine dipeptidase; glycyl-leucine dipeptidase; iminodipeptidase; peptidase A; Pro-X dipeptidase; prolinase; prolyl dipeptidase; prolylglycine dipeptidase; iminodipeptidase; prolinase; L-prolylglycine dipeptidase; prolylglycine dipeptidase; diglycinase; Gly-Leu hydrolase; glycyl-L-leucine dipeptidase; glycyl-L-leucine hydrolase; glycyl-L-leucine peptidase; L-amino-acyl-L-amino-acid hydrolase; glycylleucine peptidase; glycylleucine hydrolase; glycylleucine dipeptide hydrolase; non-specific dipeptidase; human cytosolic non-specific dipeptidase; glycyl-L-leucine hydrolase; glycyl-glycine dipeptidase

Comments: A zinc enzyme with broad specificity, varying somewhat with source species. Activated and stabilized by dithiothreitol and Mn2+. Inhibited by bestatin and leucine. Formerly EC, EC, EC, EC, EC, EC, EC and EC

Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, MEROPS, Metacyc, PDB, CAS registry number: 9025-31-4


1. Bauer, K. Cytosol non-specific dipeptidase. In: Handbook of Proteolytic Enzymes (Barrett, A. J., Rawlings, N. D. and Woessner, J. F., eds), pp. 1520-1522 (1998) Academic Press, London

[EC created 1961 as EC and EC, transferred 1972 to EC and EC, transferred 1978 to EC, part transferred 1992 to EC, modified 2000 (EC created 1989, incorporated 1992)]

Return to EC 3.4.13 home page
Return to EC 3.4 home page
Return to EC 3 home page
Return to Enzymes home page
Return to IUBMB Biochemical Nomenclature home page