IUBMB Enzyme Nomenclature


Accepted name: sarcosine reductase

Reaction: acetyl phosphate + methylamine + thioredoxin disulfide + H2O = N-methylglycine + phosphate + thioredoxin

For diagram click here.

Glossary: sarcosine = N-methylglycine

Systematic name: acetyl-phosphate methylamine:thioredoxin disulfide oxidoreductase (N-methylglycine-forming)

Comments: The reaction is observed only in the direction of sarcosine reduction. The enzyme from Eubacterium acidaminophilum consists of subunits A, B and C. Subunit B contains selenocysteine and a pyruvoyl group, and is responsible for sarcosine binding and methylamine release. Subunit A, which also contains selenocysteine, is reduced by thioredoxin, and is needed to convert the carboxymethyl group into a ketene equivalent, in turn used by subunit C to produce acetyl phosphate. Only subunit B distinguishes this enzyme from EC (glycine reductase) and EC (betaine reductase).

Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, Metacyc, CAS registry number: 125752-88-7


1. Wagner, M., Sonntag, D., Grimm, R., Pich, A. Eckerskorn, C., Söhling, B. and Andreesen, J.R. Substrate-specific selenoprotein B of glycine reductase from Eubacterium acidaminophilum. Eur. J. Biochem. 260 (1999) 38-49. [PMID: 10091582]

2. Hormann, K. and Andreesen, J.R. Reductive cleavage of sarcosine and betaine by Eubacterium acidaminophilum via enzyme systems different from glycine reductase. Arch. Microbiol. 153 (1989) 50-59.

[EC created 2003]

Return to EC 1.21.4 home page
Return to EC 1.21 home page
Return to EC 1 home page
Return to Enzymes home page
Return to IUBMB Biochemical Nomenclature home page