Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry (NC-IUB)

Nomenclature of Electron-Transfer Proteins

World Wide Web version prepared by G. P. Moss

School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, Queen Mary University of London,
Mile End Road, London, E1 4NS, UK

The recommendations in this version are identical to the document published in Enzyme Nomenclature Academic Press, San Diego, California, 1992, pp. 534-561; Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 1991, 1060, between page 236 and 237 (retains original EJB page numbers); Eur. J. Biochem., 1991, 200, 599-611 (correction 1993, 213, 2-3); J. Biol. Chem., 1992, 267, 665-677. [Copyright IUBMB]. If you need to quote this document please cite these references.Any comments, corrections or suggestions for a future edition should be e-mailed to (Dr G P Moss) or other member of the Committees. In the web version an error in the Enzyme Nomenclature version has been corrected and marked by error details, which is a link to details of the change and where it applies. The error list also details errors in the three journal versions.

All footnotes in the printed versions have been converted into notes following the relevant paragraph.

The last two editions of Enzyme Nomenclature have included an appendix on the nomenclature of electron-transfer proteins. The Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry decided in 1984 that this needed substantial revision, and set up a panel whose original members were: H. Beinert, R.C. Bray, C.C. Greenwood, V. Massey, E. Münck, G. Palmer, (convenor), J. Peisach, E.C. Slater, B.E. Smith and D.M. Ziegler.

Since that time the panel has been assisted by S.P.J. Albracht, B.A. Averill, R.P. Ambler, G.W. Canters, M. Cusanovich, J.A. Duine, H.C. Freeman, G.J. Leigh, T. Meyer, A.G. Sykes, R. Timkovich, R. Wever, P.M. Wood and T. Yamanaka. The first draft of these recommendations was prepared by Graham Palmer, Rice University, Houston, Texas, U.S.A. After approval by NC-IUB in 1989 the recommendations were extended and prepared for publication by Jan Reedijk, Leiden University, The Netherlands.


Continue with Sections 1-3.
Return to main IUBMB Biochemical Nomenclature home page
Return to main IUPAC Chemical Nomenclature home page